• Any account with a blue verified badge on their Ex-Mormons Unite profile is a verified account.

  • Verification is currently used to establish the authenticity of identities of certain individuals in the Ex-Mormon community to make it easier for users to find who they're looking for.

  • Ex-Mormons Unite verifies accounts on an ongoing basis. We concentrate on key users in the Ex-Mormon community including prominent bloggers, authors, leaders, spokespeople, and other individuals who have significant influence in the community. We are constantly updating our requirements for verification. 

  • We do accept requests for verification from the general public. If you fall under one of the above categories, you may submit a request for verification. We may require additional information to verify your identity or learn more about your influence in the Ex-Mormon community. Before your account is approved for verification, you are required to change your public display name to your real first and last name (contact us if you’re not sure how to do this).

    If we believe you fall under one of the above categories, and your account meets our qualifications for verification, we may reach out to you about verifying your account.

    • The verified badge will appear next to a user's name on their profile page. It will also appear next to a user’s name in searches for people on Twitter.
    • If the verified badge appears anywhere else on a user's profile page (such as in the avatar or the background) it is not a verified account.
    • The verified badge cannot be used unless it is provided by Ex-Mormons Unite. Accounts using a badge as part of profile pictures, background images, or in any way implying false verification will be permanently suspended.
    • The verified badge will have the same color even if users have customized their profile page theme colors.
  • Changing certain profile information (such as the public display name) will result in the removal of a verified badge. That account will automatically be reviewed again to ensure it is eligible for verification.

    An account may also lose its verified status if it violates the Terms and Conditions.